Lemaire

The dilapidated Beguinage site was rescued from destruction in 1962 by the signing of an agreement transferring ownership to the University of Leuven (apart from the Church of St John the Baptist, which was only transferred after its restoration). This room is located on the ground floor of the Infirmary building, and is accessible to wheelchairs.


This room is located on the ground floor of the Infirmary building, and is accessible to wheelchairs.

A little history

The Infirmerie and the Table of the Holy Spirit were, like the rest of the Grand Beguinage, confiscated by the French and placed under the management of ‘Les Hospices Civils de Louvain’, which in 1925 became the Commission for Public Support, today’s O.C.M.W. or Public Centre for Social Welfare.

The dilapidated Beguinage site was rescued from destruction in 1962 by the signing of an agreement transferring ownership to the University of Leuven (apart from the Church of St John the Baptist, which was only transferred after its restoration). A start was made on the restoration work under Professor Raymond M. Lemaire in 1963, and it was finished in 1990 with the completion of the street behind the church by the engineer and architect Paul van Aerschot.

Raymond Martin Lemaire (1921-1997) studied law, history, art history and classics at the University of Leuven. Although neither an architect nor a civil engineer, he built up a reputation in the field of architecture, restoration and urban planning, primarily through the restoration of the Grand Beguinage. As a result, he was awarded the Gold Medal of the Académie d’Architecture de France in 1970.

In addition to his duties as a professor he was also a minister plenipotentiary after the Second World War and member of the commission which had the task of tracking down and recovering art works that had been stolen by the occupying forces. In 1965, together with an Italian colleague, he established the International Council on Monuments and Sites. He was a UNESCO Special Envoy and was elevated to the nobility in 1990. His advice was sought in connection with numerous restoration projects in Belgium and other countries.

Setup facility

Theater Klas U Blok
130 60 45 10
Met dansvloer Zonder dansvloer
70 110

Lengte / Breedte
16,8 x 8,0m

Gallery

Compare with the other facilities

Zaal Meetings Lunch/Diner Lengte / Breedte
Theater Klas U Blok Met dansvloer Zonder dansvloer
Anna De Paepe 35 24 21 18 8,1 x 6,2m
B. Lipsius 14 16 20 6,9 x 5,2m
Begga 10 4,5 x 6,0m
Bisschopskamer 40 32 21 28 45 8,0 x 8,0m
E. Van Ophem 10 4,4 x 6,0m
Florquin 20 15 15 15 8,2 x 6,1m
H. Geesttafel 50 36 26 32 50 12 x 5,5m
Infirmerie 250 100 160 200 27,8 x 8,9m
Lemaire 130 60 45 10 70 110 16,8 x 8,0m
M. Roelands 12 14 5,9 x 4,6m
St. Anna 16 7,0 x 4,0m
St. Barbara 60 50 34 30 14,0 x 5,5m
St. Gommarius 18 8.2 x 6.2m
Swerius 24 24 24 24 6,0 x 14,0m
Van Hamaele 50 40 29 20 9,7 x 8,0m
Willem Van Croy 160 16,0 x 15,0m

"Professionals are in no doubt! Faculty Club is the location of choice for organizing your seminars, meetings, press conferences and multi-day conferences."

Lemaire

Cette salle est située au rez-de-chaussée de l’Infirmerie et elle est accessible aux personnes en fauteuil roulant.


Cette salle est située au rez-de-chaussée de l’Infirmerie et elle est accessible aux personnes en fauteuil roulant.

Un petit bout d’histoire

L’Infirmerie et la Table du Saint-Esprit furent, comme le reste du Grand Béguinage, confisquées par les Français et placées sous la direction des ‘Hospices Civils de Louvain’, qui sont devenus en 1925 la Commission d’Assistance Publique, l’actuel CPAS. Le site désaffecté du béguinage a été sauvé de la démolition en 1962 par la signature d’un transfert de propriété vers la KU Leuven (à l’exception de l’église Saint Jean-Baptiste, qui n’a été transférée qu’après sa restauration). La restauration a commencé sous la direction du professeur Raymond M. Lemaire en 1963 et elle s’est achevée en 1990 avec la réfection de la rue située derrière l’église par l’ingénieur-architecte Paul van Aerschot.

Raymond Martin Lemaire (1921-1997) a étudié le droit, l’histoire et l’archéologie à la KU Leuven. Bien qu’il ne fut ni architecte ni ingénieur civil, il allait se faire un nom dans le domaine de l’architecture, de la restauration et de l’urbanisme, principalement grâce à la restauration du Grand Béguinage. Il reçut pour ce travail la médaille d’or de l’Académie d’Architecture de France en 1970.

Parallèlement à son métier de professeur, il fut aussi mandataire du ministre après la Deuxième Guerre mondiale et membre de la commission chargée de retrouver et de rapatrier le patrimoine artistique volé par l’occupant. En 1965, il fonda avec un collègue italien le Conseil international des monuments et sites. Il fut ambassadeur de l’UNESCO et fut anobli en 1990. Ses conseils ont été sollicités dans le cadre d’innombrables restaurations en Belgique et à l’étranger.

 

Setup facility

Theater Klas U Blok
130 60 45 10
Met dansvloer Zonder dansvloer
70 110

Lengte / Breedte
16,8 x 8,0m

Gallery

Compare with the other facilities

Zaal Meetings Lunch/Diner Lengte / Breedte
Theater Klas U Blok Met dansvloer Zonder dansvloer
Anna De Paepe 35 24 21 18 8,1 x 6,2m
B. Lipsius 14 16 20 6,9 x 5,2m
Begga 10 4,5 x 6,0m
Bisschopskamer 40 32 21 28 45 8,0 x 8,0m
E. Van Ophem 10 4,4 x 6,0m
Florquin 20 15 15 15 8,2 x 6,1m
H. Geesttafel 50 36 26 32 50 12 x 5,5m
Infirmerie 250 100 160 200 27,8 x 8,9m
Lemaire 130 60 45 10 70 110 16,8 x 8,0m
M. Roelands 12 14 5,9 x 4,6m
St. Anna 16 7,0 x 4,0m
St. Barbara 60 50 34 30 14,0 x 5,5m
St. Gommarius 18 8.2 x 6.2m
Swerius 24 24 24 24 6,0 x 14,0m
Van Hamaele 50 40 29 20 9,7 x 8,0m
Willem Van Croy 160 16,0 x 15,0m

"Les professionnels ne doutent jamais ! Faculty Club est l’endroit par excellence où organiser vos séminaires, réunions, conférences de presse ou congrès de plusieurs jours."