M. Roelands

Machtilt Roelants (+ 1396), after whom this room is named, was a Beguine in Leuven’s Grand Beguinage, and came from a leading Leuven family. This room is located on the ground floor of the Infirmary building, and is accessible to wheelchairs.


A little history

Machtilt Roelants (+ 1396), after whom this room is named, was a Beguine in Leuven’s Grand Beguinage, and came from a leading Leuven family. Among other things her family donated a window to the Church of St John the Baptist, but unfortunately this has been lost. Machtilt is buried at the church.

St Augustine

St Augustine, or Aurelius Augustinus, also known as Augustine of Hippo, lived from 354 to 430. He was bishop of Hippo and a theologian and philosopher. The precise origin of the marble sculpture of this church father, who was an influential early theologian and writer, is unknown. The seventeenth-century statue, which is missing one hand and the mitre, is in the Baroque style and may at one time have been part of the furnishings of the Beguinage church.

Small beer to quench the thirst

Most houses in the Grand Beguinage originally had a plaque or a statue in a niche whose design referred to the name or purpose of the building. One of the finest preserved examples is a terracotta relief showing the Presentation of Mary in the Temple, which comes from the Convent of Our Lady of Presentation (house no. 27). The Convent was built after 1638 when Anna van Asseldonck from ’s Hertogenbosch made a bequest for bursaries and for a house in which eight girls were accommodated under the supervision of a meesteresse or mistress. The girls learnt to read, write, sew, and do needlework and other women’s work, and were also given slapinghe, vier ende light, potagie ende cleyn bier voor de dorst (‘sleeping quarters, four meals, soup and small beer to quench the thirst’). This façade relief from around 1640 depicts St Anne with her daughter Mary in the temple, framed in a cartouche with foliage and floral sprays. It is an attractive Baroque sculpture from the heyday of the Grand Beguinage.

View of the Grand Beguinage

The Roelands Room also has a painting by Ernest Faut (1879 – 1961), showing a view of the Grand Beguinage.

Setup facility

Theater Klas U Blok
12
Met dansvloer Zonder dansvloer
14

Lengte / Breedte
5,9 x 4,6m

Gallery

Compare with the other facilities

Zaal Meetings Lunch/Diner Lengte / Breedte
Theater Klas U Blok Met dansvloer Zonder dansvloer
Anna De Paepe 35 24 21 18 8,1 x 6,2m
B. Lipsius 14 16 20 6,9 x 5,2m
Begga 10 4,5 x 6,0m
Bisschopskamer 40 32 21 28 45 8,0 x 8,0m
E. Van Ophem 10 4,4 x 6,0m
Florquin 20 15 15 15 8,2 x 6,1m
H. Geesttafel 50 36 26 32 50 12 x 5,5m
Infirmerie 250 100 160 200 27,8 x 8,9m
Lemaire 130 60 45 10 70 110 16,8 x 8,0m
M. Roelands 12 14 5,9 x 4,6m
St. Anna 16 7,0 x 4,0m
St. Barbara 60 50 34 30 14,0 x 5,5m
St. Gommarius 18 8.2 x 6.2m
Swerius 24 24 24 24 6,0 x 14,0m
Van Hamaele 50 40 29 20 9,7 x 8,0m
Willem Van Croy 160 16,0 x 15,0m

"Professionals are in no doubt! Faculty Club is the location of choice for organizing your seminars, meetings, press conferences and multi-day conferences."

M. Roelands

Machtilt Roelants (+ 1396), qui a donné son nom à la salle, était une béguine du Grand Béguinage de Louvain et provenait d’une importante famille louvaniste. Sa famille avait notamment offert un vitrail à l’église Saint-Jean-Baptiste, mais celui-ci a malheureusement disparu aujourd’hui. Machtilt est enterrée dans l’église.


Cette salle est située au rez-de-chaussée de l’Infirmerie et elle est accessible aux personnes en fauteuil roulant.

Un petit bout d’histoire

Machtilt Roelants (+ 1396), qui a donné son nom à la salle, était une béguine du Grand Béguinage de Louvain et provenait d’une importante famille louvaniste. Sa famille avait notamment offert un vitrail à l’église Saint-Jean-Baptiste, mais celui-ci a malheureusement disparu aujourd’hui. Machtilt est enterrée dans l’église.

Saint Augustin

Saint Augustin, ou Aurelius Augustinus, aussi appelé Augustin d’Hippone, a vécu de 354 à 430. Il était évêque d’Hippone, théologien et philosophe. On ignore la provenance exacte de la statue en marbre qui représente cet homme d’église, un théologien et écrivain influent de l’église catholique. La statue, dont il manque une main et la mitre, date du dix-septième siècle. Elle a été réalisée en style baroque et elle a peut-être fait partie de la décoration de l’église du Béguinage.

Une bière pour la soif

La plupart des maisons du Grand Béguinage ont eu, à un moment donné, une pierre de façade ou une petite statue disposée dans une niche faisant référence au nom ou à la destination de la maison. Un des plus beaux exemplaires conservés est un relief en terre cuite représentant Marie au temple, qui provient du Couvent Notre-Dame-de-la-Présentation (maison n°27). Le Couvent a été construit après 1638 lorsque Anna van Asseldonck de ’s Hertogenbosch laissa un héritage pour des foires et pour une maison, dans laquelle huit jeunes filles furent placées sous la supervision d’une maîtresse. Les jeunes filles y ont appris à lire, écrire, coudre, faire de la tapisserie et d’autres travaux féminins et y ont également reçu slapinghe, vier ende light, potagie ende cleyn bier voor de dorst. Ce relief de façade datant de 1640 environ montre une représentation de Sainte Anne et de sa fille Marie au temple, reprise dans une cartouche avec des rangs de feuilles et de fleurs. Il s’agit d’une très belle sculpture baroque datant de l’époque glorieuse du Grand Béguinage.

Vue du Grand Béguinage

On trouve également dans la salle Roelands une toile d’Ernest Faut (1879 – 1961), qui représente une vue du Grand Béguinage.

Setup facility

Theater Klas U Blok
12
Met dansvloer Zonder dansvloer
14

Lengte / Breedte
5,9 x 4,6m

Gallery

Compare with the other facilities

Zaal Meetings Lunch/Diner Lengte / Breedte
Theater Klas U Blok Met dansvloer Zonder dansvloer
Anna De Paepe 35 24 21 18 8,1 x 6,2m
B. Lipsius 14 16 20 6,9 x 5,2m
Begga 10 4,5 x 6,0m
Bisschopskamer 40 32 21 28 45 8,0 x 8,0m
E. Van Ophem 10 4,4 x 6,0m
Florquin 20 15 15 15 8,2 x 6,1m
H. Geesttafel 50 36 26 32 50 12 x 5,5m
Infirmerie 250 100 160 200 27,8 x 8,9m
Lemaire 130 60 45 10 70 110 16,8 x 8,0m
M. Roelands 12 14 5,9 x 4,6m
St. Anna 16 7,0 x 4,0m
St. Barbara 60 50 34 30 14,0 x 5,5m
St. Gommarius 18 8.2 x 6.2m
Swerius 24 24 24 24 6,0 x 14,0m
Van Hamaele 50 40 29 20 9,7 x 8,0m
Willem Van Croy 160 16,0 x 15,0m

"Les professionnels ne doutent jamais ! Faculty Club est l’endroit par excellence où organiser vos séminaires, réunions, conférences de presse ou congrès de plusieurs jours."