B. Lipsius

This room was named after Barbara Lipsius (+ 1706), who was Stewardess for five years and Mistress of the Table of the Holy Spirit for 18 years. Together with her sisters, Catharina and Johanna, she lived in the house that her parents had built in 1661.


This room is located on the ground floor of the Infirmary building, and is accessible via a few steps.

A little history

This room was named after Barbara Lipsius (+ 1706), who was Stewardess for five years and Mistress of the Table of the Holy Spirit for 18 years. Together with her sisters, Catharina and Johanna, she lived in the house that her parents had built in 1661: Sint-Joris, Rechtestraat 18. Their father Joris, or Georgius, held an administrative post at the university. The three sisters are buried at the Church of St John the Baptist.

A warning

On this small panel, a kneeling Beguine with folded hands is depicted. Opposite her, Christ speaks the words: ‘Begynken ik segget u in trouwen / Gaat ghy hier uyt het sal u berouwen’ (‘I tell thee, Beguine, if thou leav’st here to wed / Many will be the tears thou shalt shed’). This admonitory painting from 1648, in a popular style, formerly hung over the front door in a Beguine’s house in the Grand Beguinage.

St Begga

The Beguines had a great affinity with a number of female saints. From the fifteenth century onwards, increasing interest was taken in St Begga, out of a conviction that she was the originator of the Beguine movement. In the seventeenth century, she was recognised and celebrated as the patroness of the Beguines. Traces of St Begga can also be found in the Grand Beguinage in Leuven, such as this painting of her, crowned and wearing Beguine’s robes, and holding in her left hand her attribute, a model of a church.

Setup facility

Theater Klas U Blok
14 16
Met dansvloer Zonder dansvloer
20

Lengte / Breedte
6,9 x 5,2m

Gallery

Compare with the other facilities

Zaal Meetings Lunch/Diner Lengte / Breedte
Theater Klas U Blok Met dansvloer Zonder dansvloer
Anna De Paepe 35 24 21 18 8,1 x 6,2m
B. Lipsius 14 16 20 6,9 x 5,2m
Begga 10 4,5 x 6,0m
Bisschopskamer 40 32 21 28 45 8,0 x 8,0m
E. Van Ophem 10 4,4 x 6,0m
Florquin 20 15 15 15 8,2 x 6,1m
H. Geesttafel 50 36 26 32 50 12 x 5,5m
Infirmerie 250 100 160 200 27,8 x 8,9m
Lemaire 130 60 45 10 70 110 16,8 x 8,0m
M. Roelands 12 14 5,9 x 4,6m
St. Anna 16 7,0 x 4,0m
St. Barbara 60 50 34 30 14,0 x 5,5m
St. Gommarius 18 8.2 x 6.2m
Swerius 24 24 24 24 6,0 x 14,0m
Van Hamaele 50 40 29 20 9,7 x 8,0m
Willem Van Croy 160 16,0 x 15,0m

"Professionals are in no doubt! Faculty Club is the location of choice for organizing your seminars, meetings, press conferences and multi-day conferences."

B. Lipsius

Cette salle doit son nom à Barbara Lipsius (+ 1706). Elle fut grande-maîtresse pendant cinq ans et maîtresse du Saint-Esprit. Elle habitait avec ses sœurs Catharina et Johanna dans la maison que leurs parents avaient fait construire en 1661.


Cette salle est située au rez-de-chaussée de l’Infirmerie et elle est accessible via quelques marches.

Un petit bout d’histoire

Cette salle doit son nom à Barbara Lipsius (+ 1706). Elle fut grande-maîtresse pendant cinq ans et maîtresse du Saint-Esprit. Elle habitait avec ses sœurs Catharina et Johanna dans la maison que leurs parents avaient fait construire en 1661 : Sint-Joris, Rechtestraat 18. Leur père, Joris, ou Georgius, occupait une fonction administrative à l’université. Les trois sœurs sont enterrées dans l’église Saint Jean-Baptiste.

Le repentir

Sur ce petit panneau, on peut voir une béguine à genoux, les mains jointes devant le Christ qui prononce ses mots : ‘Begynken ik segget u in trouwen gaat ghy hier uyt het sal u berouwen’. Cette œuvre datant de 1648 se trouvait auparavant au-dessus de la porte d’entrée d’une petite maison de béguine du Grand Béguinage.

Sainte-Begga

Les béguines possédaient une grande affinité avec plusieurs saintes. À partir du quinzième siècle, elles accordèrent de plus en plus d’attention à Sainte-Begga, de là leur conviction que cette dernière était à l’origine de l’ordre des béguines. Au cours du dix-septième siècle, elle aurait été reconnue patronne des béguines et célébrée en tant que telle. On en retrouve également des traces au Grand Béguinage de Louvain. Cette représentation peinte de Sainte-Begga, couronnée, en tenue de béguine et tenant dans la main gauche une maquette d’église, en est un exemple.

Setup facility

Theater Klas U Blok
14 16
Met dansvloer Zonder dansvloer
20

Lengte / Breedte
6,9 x 5,2m

Gallery

Compare with the other facilities

Zaal Meetings Lunch/Diner Lengte / Breedte
Theater Klas U Blok Met dansvloer Zonder dansvloer
Anna De Paepe 35 24 21 18 8,1 x 6,2m
B. Lipsius 14 16 20 6,9 x 5,2m
Begga 10 4,5 x 6,0m
Bisschopskamer 40 32 21 28 45 8,0 x 8,0m
E. Van Ophem 10 4,4 x 6,0m
Florquin 20 15 15 15 8,2 x 6,1m
H. Geesttafel 50 36 26 32 50 12 x 5,5m
Infirmerie 250 100 160 200 27,8 x 8,9m
Lemaire 130 60 45 10 70 110 16,8 x 8,0m
M. Roelands 12 14 5,9 x 4,6m
St. Anna 16 7,0 x 4,0m
St. Barbara 60 50 34 30 14,0 x 5,5m
St. Gommarius 18 8.2 x 6.2m
Swerius 24 24 24 24 6,0 x 14,0m
Van Hamaele 50 40 29 20 9,7 x 8,0m
Willem Van Croy 160 16,0 x 15,0m

"Les professionnels ne doutent jamais ! Faculty Club est l’endroit par excellence où organiser vos séminaires, réunions, conférences de presse ou congrès de plusieurs jours."