Van Hamaele

Maria Magdalena van Hamal van Elderen (ca. 1460-1540) was the wife of Willem van Croÿ, after whom another room in this building is named. Willem was her second husband. Together they founded a Celestine convent in Heverlee, although sadly this no longer exists.


This room is located on the ground floor of the Convent van Chièvres. To reach this building, you walk from the car park some distance into the Grand Beguinage. In view of the location’s historical character, the streets are paved with authentic cobblestones.

A little history

Maria Magdalena van Hamal van Elderen (ca. 1460-1540) was the wife of Willem van Croÿ, after whom another room in this building is named. Willem was her second husband. Together they founded a Celestine convent in Heverlee, although sadly this no longer exists.

The Convent van Chièvres was built in 1561 with money bequeathed by Maria Magdalena. The small bulbous cupola on the large pyramidal slate roof is a reference to the two corner towers on the castle of the van Croÿ – van Hamal family in Heverlee. Up to the time of the French Revolution, their coats of arms were displayed above the entrance gate. Nowadays, a colourful ceramic shield hangs there displaying the year 1561 and the same arms.

The Convent was supposed to offer accommodation to 13 penniless Beguines. It was largely co-financed by Leo de la Cousture, stadtholder or lieutenant of the Duke of Aarschot, and his wife, Margarita Eijgens, who became a Beguine in Leuven after her husband’s death. The communal areas to the left and right of the Van Hamaele room are called Cousture and Eygens respectively.

From the time of French control onwards, the Convent was used for a series of different purposes – as a textile factory and later as the municipal girls’ orphanage. From 1937 until restoration work started in 1968, it was used a convent for an order called the Aumôniers du Travail or Missionaries of Workers.

 

Setup facility

Theater Klas U Blok
50 40 29 20
Met dansvloer Zonder dansvloer

Lengte / Breedte
9,7 x 8,0m

Gallery

Compare with the other facilities

Zaal Meetings Lunch/Diner Lengte / Breedte
Theater Klas U Blok Met dansvloer Zonder dansvloer
Anna De Paepe 35 24 21 18 8,1 x 6,2m
B. Lipsius 14 16 20 6,9 x 5,2m
Begga 10 4,5 x 6,0m
Bisschopskamer 40 32 21 28 45 8,0 x 8,0m
E. Van Ophem 10 4,4 x 6,0m
Florquin 20 15 15 15 8,2 x 6,1m
H. Geesttafel 50 36 26 32 50 12 x 5,5m
Infirmerie 250 100 160 200 27,8 x 8,9m
Lemaire 130 60 45 10 70 110 16,8 x 8,0m
M. Roelands 12 14 5,9 x 4,6m
St. Anna 16 7,0 x 4,0m
St. Barbara 60 50 34 30 14,0 x 5,5m
St. Gommarius 18 8.2 x 6.2m
Swerius 24 24 24 24 6,0 x 14,0m
Van Hamaele 50 40 29 20 9,7 x 8,0m
Willem Van Croy 160 16,0 x 15,0m

"Professionals are in no doubt! Faculty Club is the location of choice for organizing your seminars, meetings, press conferences and multi-day conferences."

Van Hamaele

Marie-Madeleine de Hamal d’Elderen (env. 1460-1540) était l’épouse de Guillaume de Croÿ, dont une autre salle de ce bâtiment porte son nom. Cette salle est située au rez-de-chaussée du Couvent de Chièvres. Pour rejoindre ce bâtiment, vous traverserez d’abord une partie du Grand Béguinage.


Cette salle est située au rez-de-chaussée du Couvent de Chièvres. Pour rejoindre ce bâtiment, vous traverserez d’abord une partie du Grand Béguinage. En raison du caractère historique du lieu, les rues sont en pavés authentiques.

Un petit bout d’histoire

Marie-Madeleine de Hamal d’Elderen (env. 1460-1540) était l’épouse de Guillaume de Croÿ, dont une autre salle de ce bâtiment porte son nom. Guillaume était son deuxième époux. Ensemble, ils fondèrent un cloître pour les célestins à Heverlee, mais celui-ci n’existe malheureusement plus.

Le Couvent de Chièvres fut construit en 1561 avec l’argent du testament de Marie-Madeleine. Les petits bulbes sur le grand toit en pavillon d’ardoise est une référence aux deux tours d’angle du château de la famille de Croÿ – de Hamal à Heverlee. Jusqu’à la Révolution française, leurs blasons trônèrent au-dessus de la porte d’entrée. Aujourd’hui, on y a suspendu un blason de céramique riche en couleurs avec l’année 1561 et les mêmes armoiries.

Le Couvent a dû accorder l’asile à 13 béguines sans ressources. Il a été pour une grande part aussi financé par Leo de la Cousture, lieutenant du Duc d’Aarschot, et par sa femme, Margarita Eijgens qui est devenue béguine à Louvain après la mort de son mari. Les espaces publics à gauche et à droite de la salle Van Hamaele s’appellent respectivement Cousture et Eygens.

Sous le régime de la France, le Couvent a eu différentes affectations successives, en tant que fabrique de textile et plus tard, comme orphelinat municipal pour jeunes filles. De 1937 jusqu’au début de la restauration en 1968, il servait de cloître pour les Aumôniers du Travail.

Setup facility

Theater Klas U Blok
50 40 29 20
Met dansvloer Zonder dansvloer

Lengte / Breedte
9,7 x 8,0m

Gallery

Compare with the other facilities

Zaal Meetings Lunch/Diner Lengte / Breedte
Theater Klas U Blok Met dansvloer Zonder dansvloer
Anna De Paepe 35 24 21 18 8,1 x 6,2m
B. Lipsius 14 16 20 6,9 x 5,2m
Begga 10 4,5 x 6,0m
Bisschopskamer 40 32 21 28 45 8,0 x 8,0m
E. Van Ophem 10 4,4 x 6,0m
Florquin 20 15 15 15 8,2 x 6,1m
H. Geesttafel 50 36 26 32 50 12 x 5,5m
Infirmerie 250 100 160 200 27,8 x 8,9m
Lemaire 130 60 45 10 70 110 16,8 x 8,0m
M. Roelands 12 14 5,9 x 4,6m
St. Anna 16 7,0 x 4,0m
St. Barbara 60 50 34 30 14,0 x 5,5m
St. Gommarius 18 8.2 x 6.2m
Swerius 24 24 24 24 6,0 x 14,0m
Van Hamaele 50 40 29 20 9,7 x 8,0m
Willem Van Croy 160 16,0 x 15,0m

"Les professionnels ne doutent jamais ! Faculty Club est l’endroit par excellence où organiser vos séminaires, réunions, conférences de presse ou congrès de plusieurs jours."